close× Call Us +1 (777) 123 45 67

ICCAT's databases contain a series of standard alphabetical or numeric codes (for country, gear type, region, time of the year, etc.). The coding system is necessary to ensure the integrity of the databases and to follow international standards as well as those of the Sub-Committee on Statistics.

Flags & Fleet

Hierarchical coding system by flag/fleet. The relationship to ICCAT codes used in the past is also shown.


3-letter codes for species of Atlantic tunas, tuna-like fishes and some pelagic sharks.


Gear codes and gear groups


Coding system for areas or regions used for Task I data

Frequencies types

Codes used for different measurements of length/weight used for Task II (size) data

Effort types

Codes used for different measurements of fishing effort used for Task II (catch/effort) data

Square types

Codes used to categorize spatial strata used to report Task II data.

Sampling areas

Sampling Areas codes for Task-II data

Time periods

Sampling period codes for Task II data


Miscellaneous codes