## INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION FOR THE CONSERVATION OF ATLANTIC TUNAS



## COMMISSION INTERNATIONALE POUR LA CONSERVATION DES THONIDES DE L'ATLANTIQUE

### COMISION INTERNACIONAL PARA LA CONSERVACION DEL ATUN ATLANTICO

Madrid, 10 January 2024

### ICCAT CIRCULAR # 00191/2024

SUBJECT: MEETING OF THE PORT INSPECTION EXPERT GROUP FOR CAPACITY BUILDING AND ASSISTANCE (PIEG) (Online, 22 February 2024)

At the request of the Chair of The Port Inspection Expert Group for Capacity Building and Assistance (PIEG) and following confirmation of availability of the Expert Group members, the the next meeting of the PIEG has been convened for **22 February 2024**, and not 6 February 2024 as indicated in ICCAT Circular #13057/23. This meeting will be held online using the Zoom platform between **11:00 to 16:00 Madrid time**, with a break of one hour at around **13:00**.

The current membership of the Expert Group is attached. In order to organize the online meeting, Head Delegates are requested to inform the Secretariat of any change in the member of the Expert Group from their CPC by **31 January 2024** at the latest. Those CPCs marked in yellow are particularly requested to check their nominees, as the current Group members are no longer active in our database. Please note that in accordance with Rec. 16-18, paragraph 8 "the Expert Group will consist of **no more than one participant from each CPC**, participating as experts in port inspection and/or developing CPC needs, and not representing the interests of their respective CPCs". Nominated participants must also register for the meeting by **15 February 2024** using the online registration form which will be available shortly on the ICCAT meetings webpage.

An initial study of possible needs was carried out in 2018, where several CPCs submitted the Pre-Assessment form and in some cases also the Self-Assessment form. Any CPC wishing to request assistance for the first time, or to update any previous requests for assistance are invited to submit their new or revised Assessment forms by **31 January 2024** to the Secretariat.

Should any CPC wish to submit any other document for consideration by or information of the Expert Group, please also submit these by **31 January 2024** if possible.

The Tentative Agenda is attached and will be uploaded to the Nextcloud document folder, details of access to this folder will be sent to Expert Group members, as will any other documents submitted.

Please accept the assurances of my highest consideration.

P.O. Executive Secretary

Miguel Neves dos Santos Assistant Executive Secretary

#### DISTRIBUTION:

Commission Officers:

Commission Chair: E. Penas Lado COC Chair: D. Campbell
First Vice Chair: Z. Driouich PWG Chair: N. Ansell
Second Vice Chair: R. Chong STACFAD Chair: D. Warner-Kramer
Chairs Panels 1-4

SCRS Chair: C. Brown

- Members of the Port Inspection Expert Group for Capacity Building and Assistance
- Head Delegates
- Cooperating Parties, Entities or Fishing Entities

Attachment: Tentative Agenda and Expert Group membership as of 10 January 2024.



# COMISION INTERNACIONAL PARA LA CONSERVACION DEL ATUN ATLANTICO

### Port Inspection Expert Group for Capacity Building and Assistance (PIEG)

#### **Tentative Agenda**

- 1. Opening of the meeting
- 2. Adoption of the Agenda and meeting arrangements
- 3. Review of progress since previous meeting
- 4. Determination of next steps in the assessment of needs and review of training requests
- 5. Consideration of opportunities and partners to deliver training in 2024; including use of FAO funds.
- 6. Other matters
- 7. Adoption of report and adjournment



# COMISION INTERNACIONAL PARA LA CONSERVACION DEL ATUN ATLANTICO

# Current list of Members of the Port Inspection Expert Group for Capacity Building and Assistance (PIEG)

СРС	Name	E-mail
ALBANIA	Ali Baze	ali.baze88@gmail.com
ALGERIA	Hentour Abderrahmane	abdou.hentour@gmail.com
ANGOLA	Vicente Miguel Neto	salaoperativacentral@hotmail.com;
		vmvicenteneto.26@gmail.com
BELIZE	Robert Robinson	robert.robinson@bhsfu.gov.bz
BOLIVIA	Limbert Cortez	limbert.cortez@protonmail.ch
BRAZIL	Vitor Luís	vitor.matos@agro.gov.br
CANADA	Dion Brown	Dion.Browne@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
CÔTE D'IVOIRE	Fofana Bina	binafof@yahoo.fr
EGYPT	Nasser Arif Khalil El Shaarawe	n_sha3rawe@hotmail.com;
		gafr_eg@hotmail.com;
		n.elshaarawe@gmail.com
EL SALVADOR	Juan Jose Osorio Gomez	juan.osorio@mag.gob.sv
EU	Alexandre Kempff	Alexandre.Kempff@efca.europa.eu
GABON	Madame Carol Bernice Boupana Bola	carolboupana@gmail.com
THE GAMBIA	Roheyatou Kah	rohiatou77@gmail.com
GHANA	Richard Yeboah	richard.yeboah@fishcom.gov.gh
GUINÉE (REP. OF)	Guilé Inapogui	guileinapogui6@gmail.com
GUATEMALA	Carlos Eduardo Martínez Valladares	carlosmartinez41331@gmail.com
MAROC	Kamal Sabbane	sabbane@mpm.gov.ma
MAURITANIA	Ahmed Moulaye LV	ahmedouldmoulaye@gmail.com
NAMIBIA	Desmond Bester	Desmond.Bester@mfmr.gov.na
NIGERIA	Usman Garba	grabashafa@gmail.com
<b>PANAMA</b>	Francisco Tajú	ftaju@arap.gob.pa
STP	Alberto Francisco	albertofrancisco@hotmail.com
SÉNÉGAL	Cheikh Fall	cheihf@gmail.com
TUNISIA	Donia Sohlobji	sohlobji_donia@yahoo.fr;
		doniasohlobji@gmail.com
URUGUAY	Andrés Domingo	dimanchester@gmail.com;
		adomingo@mgap.gub.uy
USA	James Binniker	james.binniker@noaa.gov
VENEZUELA	Jhonny Jose Garcia Amaya	johnnygarcia_1@yahoo.com
USA (Back-up)	Melanie King (Madison Harris)	melanie.king@noaa.gov
Rapporteur	Vincent Chapel	vincent.chapel@efca.europa.eu